A Stranger In A Strange Land…

1 Peter 2:11-12 “Dear friends, I urge you, as aliens and strangers in the world, to abstain from sinful desires, which war against your soul. 12Live such good lives among the pagans that, though they accuse you of doing wrong, they may see your good deeds and glorify God on the day he visits us.”
Today I had to do something that I could never have imagined growing up. I had to write a note excusing my daughter from participating in an activity for Social’s class that involved drawing a picture of a god or goddess of their imagination, and naming it.
I know I have probably mentioned it before, but we are living in an area that is predominantly pagan. For last years Christmas concert, the kids choir sang songs about the elements instead of Christmas Carols. It is very challenging to  love others like Jesus does, when the culture of the day tells us we need to be intolerant.
I need to remind myself that everything I do or say in front of people who are not Christians is being observed. I may be the only manifestation of Jesus they have in their lives. That is no easy thing for a Christian.
Brianna is going through a struggle in school now as she gets older. She is questioning everything we have taught her about Jesus and the Bible, because of what she is being taught in school. She says she doesn’t know if God is real because He doesn’t answer her prayers. She also says that it is so hard to live like a Christian, when everybody else lives differently. She is absolutely right! It is hard.

2 Corinthians 12:9-10
But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. 10 For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

When I read those verses I am reminded that I can stand up against the evil behind the ungodly belief systems of the world, but not on my own. I need to be doing it in Christ’s strength, otherwise I will fail.

 


4 responses to “A Stranger In A Strange Land…

Leave a comment