Smarter Than Your Average Bear…

Yeah, I got bear on the brain today. You see, when I woke up this morning I went out to start the van..and what did I discover?  One of our many bear friends dropped by last night but he never called ahead so I didn’t leave him a snack in the garbage can.

Well I guess our bear friend figured since we didn’t leave him something he was going to do his own exploring and see if he could find anything interesting to eat. What I discovered when I came outside was an empty pizza box that had huge claw marks in it, and a trail of potting soil half way across the grass leading to an almost empty bag of #1 Sunshine Mix.

I can understand him being attracted to the empty pizza box, but what the heck was up with the potting soil?? So goes the ongoing battle of wits with this crazy bear. Just when I think I have him figured out he goes and does a fool thing like this.

Sometimes living with people who have addictions or mental illness can be a little like dealing with a crazy bear…you just never know what to expect from one day to the next.

The past few weeks with Mike has been like a crazy roller coaster ride..one day up, another down. Today was an okay day. He actually talked to me like a normal person, and didn’t criticize everything I did. We talked a bit about his drinking, and I asked him how he was doing with that. He said he only bought the one bottle and took a drink and then poured it out because it made him feel sick. I am not sure if I believe him, because I have been lied to so many times before it makes it virtually impossible to trust him again.

I am so thankful than even when people let me down, I can still put my full trust in God.

Psalm 9:10

10 Those who know your name will trust in you, for you, LORD, have never forsaken those who seek you.

Psalm 28:7

7 The LORD is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and I am helped. My heart leaps for joy and I will give thanks to him in song.



One response to “Smarter Than Your Average Bear…

  • Debbie Feller

    Fascinated by your bear story . . .but also praying for you. I don’t live where there are bears (that I know of! ha!). It brings back memories of going to mom’s when she lived out in the country on a farm. I was packing up the car with as much as I could the night before we were to leave and accidentally left the snack bag with cd player outside of the car in a chair. Came out in the wee hours of the morning to leave, only to find it had been discovered by raccoons, most likely. The funniest part was the batteries to the cd player were gone too! I pictured some critter back at it’s nest, listening to music using my batteries, and munching on a cookie!
    This encouraged me, thinking about the One we can trust.
    love and prayers, deb

Leave a comment