How Does Your Garden Grow?

Today we had a visiting missionary from Italy who shared a bit about the state of the church in Italy, and why it is so difficult to minister to Italians. He is a local who grew up in Castlegar, but moved to Italy and married his wife there. He had so many good things to share, but somethings really struck home with me.

He was mentioning about the story in Haggai chapter 1 where the people planted, but nothing grew. So much calamity befell them, and God told them why. It was because they were so busy taking care of their houses, but not God’s house. Their priorities were out of whack, and God did not honor that. The Pastor talked about how we are like the Temple of the Lord, and that our focus needs to be on  seeking after righteousness.

Matthew 6:33 says

King James Bible
But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.

The other thing that really hit me was the fact that we have so many people believing the lies that psychologists tell us. Some how we have bought into the myth that we have every right to be upset, hurt, or disappointed in what life has thrown our way, but what we really need to be doing is taking those things to the cross. Only the cross can heal us.

Of course this is only a paraphrase of what he said, as I can’t say it as well as he did. If they post his sermon to the web, I will share a link  for it. It was so powerful, and full of truth that I will need to digest it a little at a time.

Two things that really made me want to cheer when I heard them were these:

  1. He thought we were living in the last days.
  2. He said we need to be living like we are redeeming days

One thing happened that made me very sad during the service was when he asked is somebody could stand up and read a passage of scripture for him. You would think people would be flipping through their Bible’s looking for it. While I was flipping I looked up and saw very few people doing this. We even have Bible’s under the chairs for people to use, so that was not an excuse. I think we have become so reliant on Powerpoint, that people have forgot how to look things up in the Bible.  Somebody did finally stand up and read it. It breaks my heart when I see so few people bringing their Bible’s to church anymore, or even picking them up and reading it in the service. How can we know the power that God has given us if we don’t believe it, and read from His words how we are to live? How are our children going to place any value on God’s word if we don’t show them how important it is to us? How are we going to know if what the Pastor is saying is true if we don’t read it with our own eyes?

Do we really think that God’s word is true, and able to guide our daily lives, and the source of all wisdom, and a blueprint for our future? If so, then why is it okay to simply leave our Bible’s sitting on our shelves at home, thinking we don’t need it? Do we believe that our Bible is our sword? Then why leave home without it?

I urge all you as strongly as possible to open up your Bible’s and start seeing for yourself what God’s word says.

Hebrew 4:12
For the word of God is living and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.

I will leave you with this powerful song by Kathryn Scott.


6 responses to “How Does Your Garden Grow?

  • Debbie Feller

    thank you so much for this powerful and prayerful reminder of our need of Him and His word. Once we start reading, it’s really hard to stop, it becomes so much a part of our lives. I don’t think I can make it through the day without reading His word! ha! It’s just helping others to understand to take that little bit of time, that first step, to begin and then it will call them/us each day. 🙂 God bless you!

    • My family's journey to recovery.

      Your right Deb, the more time we spend in His word, the more time we want to. God’s word has a way of filling us like nothing else can, and remind us what is really important. Keeping our eyes focused on Jesus! God bless you too as you spend time with Him daily.

  • annettejerome (@annettejerome)

    Goodness are you the only one who gets it right? Find this writing upsetting so much judging. People I know are HUMAN- hurts etc are part of life- not in favour re your comment about phsycologists. If you only need to take your hurts to the cross to be healed why have you gone for counselling?have you always bought your bible to church?Have you always read the bible everyday?not from what I have read in some of your writings. As a mother who has been through the adoption process more than once heaven help your inlaws what a battle and struggle they have had to go through , your description of yourself it had or still has to make their life a living night mare.What have you put into a relationship with them? It takes a special type of person to adopt one has to have a love that goes beyond the norm I KNOW How do you get along today all of you with the parent and inlaws

    • My family's journey to recovery.

      Dear Annette,
      No, I am the first one to admit that I don’t get everything right..in fact I screw up all the time. Sorry you find the writing upsetting, but you really don’t need to read it if it upsets you so much. I don’t know if you realize it, but your comments come across as being very judgmental towards me. The point I was trying to make about counseling is this..there is nothing wrong with working through your issues and past hurts with a counselor, but it is not enough as a Christian. Jesus needs to be part of the healing process as a Christian, because only He can bring about a true healing inside. I am not sure what your fixation is on my relationship with my in-laws..You don’t know the other side of the story, and how damaging they were to our family. Until you know both sides of the story, you should not judge. I will not go into details because I do not want to hurt anybody else involved, and am praying that my husband and his parents can work things out. As far as people not reading their bibles in church, there is an epidemic in churches today, and I am not the only one noticing this. I wanted to simply make people aware of what was happening. I don’t go up to people and tell them they are sinning because they don’t have their Bibles…but I do pray for my fellow believers that they will begin to love God’s word, and want to read what God has to say. This will be the last time I respond to you, because I don’t think you are really interested in what I have to say, but simply to criticize and attack me. I am not sure why you despise me so much..but your words are unkind and hurtful. Not sure if you are trying to be that way on purpose, but there comes a time when a person needs to stand up and say enough..

  • Debbie

    God bless you, Dawn. Standing with you, in love and prayer.

Leave a comment